October 9, 2010

Exodus Thrash God Gary Holt To Appear On AC/DZ Record

Exodus guitar monster Gary Holt has been added to the list of guitarists who will lay down guest solos on the forthcoming debut album from AC/DZ, the San Francisco Bay Area-based AC/DC tribute band formed by legendary thrash singer Steve "Zetro" Souza (TENET, DUBLIN DEATH PATROL, EXODUS, LEGACY) and executive producer Walter Morgan (organizer of the Thrash Of The Titans 2001 benefit concert). Also scheduled to appear on the CD Phil Demmel (MACHINE HEAD, ex-VIO-LENCE), Bobby Gustafson (OVERKILL), Steve Smyth (FORBIDDEN, ex-NEVERMORE, TESTAMENT, VICIOUS RUMORS), Craig Locicero (FORBIDDEN, DEMONICA), Rob Cavestany (DEATH ANGEL), Eric Peterson (TESTAMENT), Tim Calvert (FORBIDDEN, NEVERMORE), Glen Alvelais (LD/50, TENET, FORBIDDEN, TESTAMENT) and James Murphy (DEATH, OBITUARY, TESTAMENT, DISINCARNATE).

AC/DZ will enter the studio in early November with producer Juan Urteaga (EXODUS, SADUS, TESTAMENT, NIGHT RANGER, VICIOUS RUMORS, HEATHEN, VILE, CATTLE DECAPITATION) to begin recording the album for an early 2011 release.

Video footage of AC/DZ performing a cover version of AC/DC's "Touch Too Much" during rehearsal can be viewed at this location.

In addition to Souza, AC/DZ's current lineup includes Jon Allen (SADUS, TESTAMENT) on drums, Elena Luciano Repetto (BOMB SCARY, MOTHER EARTH, IMAGIKA) on bass, Drew Gage (INVECTION) on rhythm guitar, and the band's latest addition, Dave Chapman (RIFF/RAFF) on lead guitar.

AC/DZ's album will feature the following songs, among others:

01. Live Wire (feat. Glen Avelais)
02. Sin City (feat. Craig Locicero)
03. Touch Too Much (feat. Tim Calvert)
04. Problem Child (feat. Gary Holt)
05. What's Next To The Moon (feat. Eric Peterson)
06. Let There Be Rock (feat. Rob Cavestany)
07. Walk All Over You (feat. Steve Smyth)
08. Beating Around The Bush (feat. Phil Demmel)
09. Night Prowler (feat. James Murphy)
10. Highway To Hell (feat. Bobby Gustafson)

"I've always had a very close relationship with AC/DC growing up; they influenced me heavily and this will mean a great deal to me," Souza told BLABBERMOUTH.NET.

"I can't wait to go on stage and just have some fun, interact with the fans that love the same music that we all grew up on.

"We plan on putting on very entertaining, high-energy visual show as well as recording an album and being as true to the original music as we can be, but with a very metal edge.

"I love performing, and this is another just another side of me, paying tribute to one of the bands that helped define me as a singer."

More information will be posted soon at

No comments:

Post a Comment